Parent’s who need a Reminder

As a teacher, we get to deal with students often times more often than parents do. We spend 8 hours a day with your student. When I’m called “mom” instead of “miss”, I still respond. One of my many roles as a teacher is a mother-figure. I’ve had students confine in me, wiped tears, and had serious conversations about life. I practice tough-love every day in the classroom.

I put all my love, sweat, and most definitely tears into the education I provide for your students. And at the end of the night I pray for every one of my students.

I try my best to be prepared and ready to go for each day (but I can’t speak for every teacher). I come to school an hour early before the first bell rings in order to get ready for the day. I usually stay an hour or two after school to plan for the next day, or the week. There is usually other teachers in my building here before me, and people who definitely stay later than I do. So if you ever though ‘What are they doing to help my student?’ You better believe we are doing everything we can to ensure your student is learning.

But at the end of the day, your students’ education comes down to the amount of support they get at home. This seems like common sense right? But the amount of parents who don’t support their students is ridiculous.

Image result for say it louder for the people in the back

I’m not saying go all out, join PTA, host bake sale, etc. And I get it. You’re busy. You have to work, you have a family to feed, you have bills to pay. I grew up in a single-parent household, so my dad being at my school for everything wasn’t always an option. But be present in their education.

Ask your student about their day. And do not let them shrug their shoulders saying “I dunno.” Because they learned something!

Answer the phone calls from the school. I can guarantee the school is calling to check in on you, and your student. They probably just want to have a conversation about your student’s day and use your input to strategize better ways to support your student. Or it’s a positive phone call home, and someone wants to brag about your student.

Have communication with your student’s teachers. Go to parent-teacher conferences! This is how you are able to see your student’s academic ability. And also the appropriate time to ask any questions you may have. Read the letters that go home. So many times have I sent home weekend folders, only to get them back on Monday with all the papers still there. That lets me know students are not being responsible enough to show their parents the forms, and parents are also not checking in with students and their work.

Most importantly if you are going to tell your student you are going to come to the school, attend a field trip, or come to a ceremony, ACTUALLY DO IT!

I’ve seen so many disappointed faces this year because parents have let down their own students. Then, I as the teacher have to use my magical powers to reassure your student that “something came up.”

So do your student a favor, show interest in their education. Spend ten minutes a day talking about what they learned about in school. Your student will see how interested you are in their education, and they in turn will be interested in their own education.

Image result for if the shoe fits meme

Scholarly articles explaining the correlation between parent-involvement and student achievement.

https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ1053945.pdf

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/00220671.2015.1016600

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close